Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new Insight driver (<2000 miles). The batteries will discharge quite quickly if I accelerate up hill (I often do this - I live in the Appalachain Mtns). If they are between 1/2 and 3/4 full (they rarely get there, even with highway driving), they'll drop to 2 or 3 bars getting on the highway. They seem to charge and discharge very quickly for NiMH batteries (I live with electrical engineers who second this). I am concerned that they aren't performing properly. Any ideas on how to tell?

I am not driving with a heavy foot, as many people seem to suspect online. I do get 74mpg going 55-65.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I'm a fairly new owner as well. My Insight just had the IMA battery replaced under warranty just before I got it and I experience the same conditions as you describe. I can only guess that the electric motor takes a BUNCH of battery power as I usually totally exhaust my assist and battery going up Afton Mountain on I-64 West (not so bad coming east, though). I think it's just the nature of the car and I wouldn't worry too much. Again, I have a brand new battery and I have the exact same conditions as you do exept I am doing 70-75 mph (with reduced mileage).

Hope this helps somewhat.

jfire

·
Administrator
12,434 Posts
Difficult question

Hi and welcome. :D

This is a difficult question which has been posed many times on this forum. A search on "ima battery" should bring up a few older discussions.

The basic answer is there is no real way to accurately assess if your batteries are deteriorating unless they set an IMA code. Code P1447 (Module deterioration) being a common one which signifies a new pack is reqd. If they haven't triggered a code, although they may be weak (and all batteries age :( ) they are still within the system tolerance zone.