Honda Insight Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hard question to answer, so I will let you help me figure it out.
On March 4, I said:
"Ballpark estimate is that the MIMA_C Version 1 Kit including the programmed Micro with PC card and parts should be under $100, and could be as little as $40. "
I was pretty close, the parts look like they will come in at the $85-$100 range, to be adjusted up or down when I get prices for the PC cards.(very quantity based)
As an engineering professional, I have been through this difficult part of a product development many times before, and would like to try something different with MIMA.
As I have stated many times, I am developing MIMA because I want one, and can see very clearly that this could help define the optimum HHI (Hybrid Human Interface), and the optimum mix of gas to electric for optimum mileage. Which the world needs very badly right now, as we approach the peak oil period of human history.
Insight owners represent the first generation of drivers of an automobile that is potentially the model for all autos in the future. Many of you have shown in a remarkable way how important driver skill is in the efficiency equation.
The Hybrid car offerings of the major carmakers do not allow the driver to fully control the hybrid systems, and therefore learn to drive the hybrid mix to full advantage.
So my goal is to force them to offer a MIMA like option or an improvement in their future Hybrids.
Although I could use some money right now (Who couldn’t), I will stick to my assertion that I want to share MIMA with everyone that wants to take the risk and will not mark it up trying to make lots of money.
In any product there is what is called the NRE or Non Repeating Engineering cost. This total cost needs to be amortized over the number of units that you intend to sell, or the whole endeavor becomes a big waste of time and Money