Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
Cleaning up a plastic headlight is not a problem. The problem is that in doing so you remove the UV protection from the headlight. Now it will just turn yellow and get brittle.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Resist said:
Cleaning up a plastic headlight is not a problem. The problem is that in doing so you remove the UV protection from the headlight. Now it will just turn yellow and get brittle.
i could be wrong here, i'm no expert at all.. but one would tend to believe that the bulbs themselves are what is coated??

edit
ehh.. nevermind. the UV protection is to protect the clear "pod" plastic. not sure what i was thinking but i can't delete the post :roll:

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Probably, but in this case that coating was gone anyways.

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
If someone could find a way to restore the UV coating on the headlight (other than slapping on some sunblock), we could save a ton of money. The headlights aren't cheap to replace.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Resist said:
If someone could find a way to restore the UV coating on the headlight (other than slapping on some sunblock), we could save a ton of money. The headlights aren't cheap to replace.
haha!
funny you say that.. i did a quick google just out of curiousity. the challenge would be finding an affordable "pro-sumer" solution for a minimal application of a rather expensive spray coating.. my hunch is that you're probably going to almost spend just as much (or at least half) on the materials to coat the pods as you would to replace them.

rick, surely you didn't think people were going to actually try to take your list one step further did you? :)

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Actually I'm still debating whether or not to try and put some clear over them now.

·
Registered
150 Posts
UV gone on mine