Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a used 2000 Insight in spring of 2003. I joined Insight Central when I was researching the car before I decided to buy it. In the summer of 2003, through the Insight Central forum, I organized an Insight meet in a park in Toronto, Ontario and I believe 6 Insights and their owners showed up. I met lots of cool people there.

February 2004, I invited some friends from Insight Central to take the Winter Car Control School in Minden Ontario to learn collision avoidance in ice and snow conditions. I'm an in-car instructor for that company a few days a month. Opal and Liam took the the course, they car pooled and shared Opal's Insight during the driving exercises. Liam did well, but Opal was clearly the best student that day. She was a natural at learning and applying the skills that were taught driving her Insight around cones with precision and control on sheer ice.

Fast forward to the spring of 2004 and I convinced Opal to come out to an autoslalom in Woostock and compete in her Insight. Opal drove her Insight and I drove my Insight in the autoslalom. She came in last place that day but she had so much fun she was hooked. In the next autoslalom we invited Aaron from Insight Central to come out and we had 3 silver Insights competiting in an Autoslalom! (I believe that may be a world record that has yet to be broken). Aaron did very well for his first time out and beat Opal. Aaron showed some typical rookie mistakes but having impressive enough lap times with stock tires to prove he has experience in performance driving (with his RX7 collection).