Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this insight. I've got it tuned pretty good. Today I went on my daily commute. I noticed when got on the highway the power and efficiency wasn't as usual. For some peculiar reason it would surge and hesitate slightly . Didn't seem like the engine or transmission which are working perfectly. The drag seemed more the AC kicking on and off. The IMA battery has never been grid charged and was said to be in need of it. Is this the sort of fuel robbing condition that requires grid charging? Because the battery is so imbalanced the charger keeps kicking on? That would make sense. I was getting 70mpg the other day before it started this. Today It stayed on 60.6 mpg for 180 miles upwind or drafting a semi downwind for 30 miles.
Thanks
Z

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Were you seeing any bars lit up on the charging gauge when you felt the power loss?
No. I forgot it had a P1164 laf sensor code.:rolleyes: I replaced the upper and lower O2 sensor. Which worked a couple of days. then the P1167 came back. If I clear it the O2 sensor starts working. It must be the air fuel ratio fluctuating which is causing the hesitating and surge. I need to check the LAF sensor?
Z

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I put a bottle of Chevron Techron in a full tank. I dont know if that could cause any problem. Its down to 1/3 tank. I thought the system might be charging the battery in the background with out showing it on the gauge.
Z

·
Registered
6,014 Posts
Check your grounds lately? (the 3 main ones in the engine compartment, 2 right and below the air box, the other connected to the 12V battery)... How about your EGR plate? (cleaned it out). And how about the EGR valve itself - the electronic part, backwards 'fingers'? And then maybe spark plugs...

In any event, what you describe doesn't sound like something that happens with an imbalanced pack...

·
Registered