Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum and have owned an Insight for 3 years. Its a 2003 automatic with cvt transmission. We also have a 2005 Civic Hybrid.

I have almost 85,000 miles on my Insight and I have only had to replace the 12v battery and an OXygen sensor.

I have started reading all these great posts and was wondering if someone could post the top 3 items to increase MPG, ( mechanical, software, etc.) I have learned how to drive it to get the best mileage I can. I am getting 52 mpg in the winter and 46 ( AC) in the summer (Lmpg is 50 ). I need to improve my mileage. I drive 85 miles to work and 85 miles back home everyday 4 days a week. I was wondering if the Electric assist can be advanced where it uses more electric power than gas ?

Without busting the bank are there any ways to improve mileage besides going 45 mph?

Thanks

Dennis

·
Registered
274 Posts
My 02 CVT gets about the same mpg as you mention. I have wondered also if there was a way to utilize more of the IMA as my SOC never goes down more than 2 bars. Tires are at 45 psi all around. I tried the cardboard between the radiator with no mpg improvement at all in cold weather. Cold weather and A/C usage have the most effect on mpg.

·
Premium Member
4,942 Posts
Hi Dennis and welcome to the forum :!: :)

According to the title of your post you hope there might be a bit of magic involved. ;) Sorry, there ain't. :(