Honda Insight Forum banner

Is it worth it?

2510 Views 17 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  trs
Hello to all. Newbie here. I'm considering purchasing a used Honda Insight. But I have a few questions and after reading a few posts here, I have some new concerns as well (battery life, reliability, etc...)

Question #1. I drive 78 miles to work (one way) for a grand whopping total of 156 miles each day. The roads I travel are 65MPH and 75MPH. Is this little Insight's engine capable of sustaining this speed for and hour and a half? I don't want to be running the engine at it's MAX.

Question #2. I am currently looking at a 2001 Insight. I've seen a few posts regarding recalls. Are the 2001's full of 'bugs'? (i.e. new technology...guinnea pigs of hybrid cars...etc..)

Thanks in advance,
Dayved
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Premium Member
3,003 Posts
2 bits

short answer = YES

Long answer

First power question :
The Insight can easily drive over 80 mph for over 600 miles no stops you fragile human will more than likely need to stop to rest or go to the bathroom before the insight has any endurance questions .... I have had mine over 100 mph for short distances and have driven 6 hours nonstop at 70 to 80 mph with the AC set to 60 degrees F ..... like any car when you go up a hill you will have to give it more gas the steeper the hill the more gas you give it eventually if the hill is steep enough like any car you may need to down shift..... when driving in lower gears at faster speeds just watch the rpms... the insight has more pick and go ability than any 4 cylander car I have ever driven... some 6 cylanders have good teeth to them and can out do the insight but I would put the Insight above even a few 6 cylanders for get up and go....

Second economy question: