Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to Insights. I just traded my old Malibu on a 2011 Insight with 33500 miles on it. I mostly picked the Insight to save gas on my commute which is about 70 miles round trip, all highway. I reset the trip A odometer and after a couple of trips it is just showing 38.2 mpg. I drive pretty easy, no really hard accelerations, most of the time the tach is 2300 to 2500. I have the econ button enabled. The assist, charge needle seems to go up and down as it should. The auto stop is working. Sometimes it seems to shutter a bit coming out of auto stop. The battery meter seems to stay a bit over half to two thirds. I was expecting to get around 45 mpg or better. I would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions. Thanks, Don

·
Registered
811 Posts
Hi congratulations,

The insight takes a little time for the driver to get used to the car and eco driving.
Everyone gets lower mpg in the winter, some of the factors are : the engine runs cold much longer, the gas has 10% ethanol(winter blend) , snow, water, ice , slush on the road slows the tires down.....

this is the generation one forum, you may get better results on the 2nd gen forum...

·
Registered
4,006 Posts
Slow down.

·
Registered
112 Posts