Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!
My name is Matt, and I recently purchased a 2001 blue MT w/AC.

I work as a heavy equipment mechanic taking care of all sorts of military equipment. big trucks, forklifts, even as big as Kalmar 50k and old DV43 988G buff's

Onto the car:

Previous owner already had a grid charger installed, as the battery pack is indeed very very tired. Does okay all day of normal driving, but the first big hill diminishes the pack, and must be driven carefully to bring it back up.

Did several things as repair, maintenance, and temporary replacement in order to bring it closer to my standards.

In the first week of ownership, a lot changed.
-fresh oil change with filter
-New windshield (cracked)
-created new grounding wires underhood
-cleaned K&N filter
-built new battery NEG setup
-ran a large can of seafoam through the gas tank til it was near fumes, refilled with zero eth 91 octane.
-biggest resulting change was seafoam aerosol cleaner through the throttlebody. FOLLOW CAN INSTRUCTIONS TO THE LETTER!
Old set of civic SI rims with 195/55/15 Cooper CS3 tires. Oversized, but work very well until I replace the terrible condition tires on stock Insight rims.

With battery pack floating between "Im useful" to "screw off, Im sleeping" I seem to be averaging around 50mpg, mostly interstate.

Doing the EGR service soon, valve lash is next once I acquire a full gasket kit, might also pop the head off and do valve sealing work, engine feels a bit "off" at low rpm.

12v battery is near dead, I have 2 sets of headway cells (2P4S) to replace it. BMS may be purchased in future if cells decide to fall out of balance.

Suspension is completely and utterly cooked. Previous owner is from Iowa, and roads were not nice. Not his fault at all.