Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I just purchased a 2000 5 speed Silver Insight last week with 143k miles. So far I am very impressed. On my first 50 mile round trip I managed about 63 MPG, that was at 74 - 77 MPH the whole time, my second trip today was a 120 mile round trip and I averaged 70 mpg one way by keeping the speed at 65mph. So far I amazed at how efficient this car is and this is after driving a 36mpg on the highway Saturn for the last 2 years.

Thanks to all who post great information in this forum. You made this the most informed auto purchase I have ever made.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Congrats!

I also bought a '00 Insight about 2 weeks ago, but I've only gotten to drive it once (I'm still learning to drive a stick) it's driving me crazy!

·
Premium Member
1,431 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This might actually make a few people jealous, but it was sitting on a lot at the other end of my street, about 1 mile away. It was on the lot for about 5 days and I wasn't all that interested because I'm not all that impressed with the mileage most hybrids get. But after looking at fueleconomy.gov and seeing how good the mpg really was I decided to go test drive it.

This is in Pocatello, ID, so there really aren't many of these around, and I seriously doubt anyone knew exactly what it was. As far as the car, it is a Silver 2000 Insight with 143k miles, new batteries. The body and Interior is super clean as the guy who had it must have pampered it. In fact most of my friends thought it was new until they saw the mileage. The only bad thing I found was some corrosion under the hood, but nothing is affected.