Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whew....what a trip! I drove from WA through Missoula, Billings, Rapid City, Mitchell, Worthington, Albert Lea, Madison. Hybridfest was great, and I met many great people, including our own Kip Munro and his wife!

After the event I drove to Oshkosh, WI to watch the planes land for a few hours (I'm a pilot and used to attend Oshkosh annually) then continued north to Superior, Int Falls, and into Canada. I went past Kenora, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Meadow Lake, Cold Lake, Ft St John, and Ft Nelson before turning south to Prince George and then Vancouver.

At one point I came across 2 mooses standing in the middle of the highway. I took a photo, then honked my horn at them so I could proceed.

In downtown Vancouver I displayed my car in the big show, where 70,000 people attended. I was bombarded with questions; with such high gas prices in Canada (4.00 gallon) my car had literally hundreds of people around it viewing my display sign, etc. Vancouver has ALOT of Prius taxi cabs, and the folks generally are quite enviro conscious.

Then I drove the last 7 hours home yesterday. Total miles: 4822 //// Gallons of fuel: 49.02 //// MPG: 98.36. Now it's time to change my oil; gee, only 2.6 qts, amazing!

·
Premium Member
2001 5S "Turbo"
10,921 Posts
trip

Glad you made it back OK Billy. Ain't "tripping" fun.

Sounds a little like my last trip of 6900 miles, except the gas mileage. ;)

People just don't realize what fun it is to just get in the Insight and "GO".

All of my trips are "impromtu".
No reservations, just play it by ear. You can meet some of the neatest people when you "tool" through the smaller towns and take the time to "smell the roses".

I know you represented the Insight professionally and maybe opened some peoples eyes to the "gas crunch". :(
Gas ain't gonna get cheaper, so enjoy it while we can!
I would like to see a caravan of Insighters heading across country.