Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all again.
I believe that someone on one of these threads asked about a way of keeping Insights from becoming solar ovens in the summer. Since the battery pack's integrity is degraded by temp. extremes. I was wondering if a mod using a solar pannel with a small Nimh battery pack could be incorporated to power the heat/cool vent fan when the car is parked to maintain ambient temp in the cabin. This mod would be thermostat regulated, and the Nimh battery pack to be set up so that the car 12vdc system could recharge it while the car is running. While parked added dcv input from the dashboard mounted solar pannel could assist the fan and decrease the draw on the minor Nimh power supply. Bare in mind that I am not an engineer, so feel free to coment on my idea.

Saboeme

·
Premium Member
830 Posts
From what you wrote, you want an independant 12v pack. I would use 10 ni-mh "AA" size batteries. Energizers from Walmart are usually 2.1 AH.

You can connect the power to the 12v outlet plug wires. The current is cut while the key is not in. You add a diode to prevent the custom ni-mh pack to discharge into the 12V system and let the 12V system charge it as needed.

You can use like the previous tread, computer style fans. What I am not aware of is where to put the fan. It needs to either draw air into the cabin or move it out.

·
Registered
652 Posts
There is a small vent opening for the battery under the car. I saw it when I was removing the muffler but have not checked the manual on its purpose. It would be good to draw the air in from here so that the battery has direct cooling and leave a window cracked (Use ventshades to prevent rain from ruining anythin) to vent the hot air. Your idea on the small pack is a good one. Have fun, RIck

·
Registered
700 Posts
Rick Reece said:
...(Use ventshades to prevent rain from ruining anythin) to vent the hot air...., RIck