Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks.

Two years ago (2018), I was so certain that a 100A fuse was the mysterious fix I'd been searching for since my first post about IMA issues in 2013.
Within a week my IMA light was back on and 12V was draining again. I was too disheartened to post an update, and the car has since sat sheltered, but idle.

Every now and then, I re-read the dozens of forum posts I've read so many times before, suggesting bad ground straps, grid chargers, bypassing the IMA... hoping I'd find something new, something to give me hope. I've repeated countless diagnostics with a multimeter and manual in hand, but I'm not an electrician or a mechanic, so there's only so much I can do myself. I've thrown good money after bad money, feeling especially "in for a pound" once I agreed to give the dealer CAD 3000$ to put in a "refurbished" IMA battery 3 years ago, since I was unable to get the car to the US to work with one of you fine folks.

I've hired mechanics and electricians with a genuine interest in the car, but no one's been able to crack the code (P1575). For all I know, my new IMA was sourced from scrap and had problems of its own. The IMA battery itself appears perfectly balanced and reading 15V across each pack, (details in the first link). I've bought it a new 12V twice in the past 2 years. Replaced all ground straps. The electrician who thought he'd found the issue in the 100A is out of ideas. For all I've spent, I probably could have bought another Insight.

It's been a real source of unhappiness in my life and I think I have to get rid of it. I posted an ad on Canada's equivalent of Craiglist (Kijiji), but am not hopeful to find anything other than scrappers willing to "take it off my hands" for a pennance.