Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks,
I'm very new to the hybrid world, but have recently purchased an '06 Accord hybrid and am really looking hard for an Insight. I'm a relatively quick study and have learned a great deal in this forum. My question is: How many miles are too many to reasonably get a quality used Insight? I live in Phx and was inches away from driving to Tucson and test-driving and possibly buying a 2000 with 227,000 miles! The condition of the car via what I could see in photos was very nice and the sale price was $4500. All others I've found are twice that price or more but have significantly fewer miles. Does anyone have any data on other Insights that have this many miles and, if so, how are they holding up? Thanks in advance for your responses.

·
Premium Member
129 Posts
Ezviper-

The Insight body is all aluminum and plastic so that part should be fine - maybe just paint.

Several on this site have achieved high mileage (dfiore, I believe) BUT 227k is A LOT -

Three parts come to my mind as requiring investigation:

1.) The engine. As with any car of that high mileage, what is the compression and oil pressure? Has it been rebuilt or replaced?

2.) The transmission

3.) Most especially, the batteries - have they been replaced? When? Since 227k is so high, then perhaps the driving is so much highway that the batteries have not been cycled as much.

All the other stuff that needs attention on a car with that many miles (brakes, struts/shocks, wheel bearings, etc.) would deserve careful study.

And I don't know if anyone knows what to expect from the electric motor itself at those miles.

How is the interior holding up?

Others will have many more things to suggest.

With each spike in gasoline prices, there is a corresponding spike in Insight prices.

Good luck.

Jim

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jim,