Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I thought this would be the best place to ask some questions about the real world experiences of owning and fixing these cars in 2021.

I'm going to look at a 2000 5-spd with about 180K on the clock. I've always had a thing for these cars for some reason i cant explain (probably most of the people who like these!) But I'm very wary of getting involved in something that will leave me stuck somewhere all the time or become a paperweight because I cant find parts or someone who can diagnose or repair the car if its beyond my means of skill or time. I'm a former mechanic with 5 years experience, I've worked on a few hybrids but nothing major, and nothing specific to IMA. I'm completely aware that its an older car and just like everything else they will have issues and diagnosing involved, just because of its uniqueness its a bit of a challenge to justify, but for the entry price on these cars it seems like a big possible win too.

TLDR: Is this actually worth the potential headaches? id be commuting 100 miles a day on average 5 days a week. But after my mini cooper just blew up i cant afford to make another mistake like buying a BMW product...

·
Registered
121 Posts