Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I am new at this, and was hoping for some help. I have recently purchased a new 2004 Insight from a local dealer. Its inital MPG reading was at 25.1 from the lot. After driving 400 miles its MPG reading is only at 48.1 MPG with tires PSI 40 all around, and interstate highway traveling from 65 mph to 70 mph.
I asked the dealer about this and they indicated that in the Northeast (PA.) oxygenators are added to the gas in winter, and that this is the cause for lower perfomance. They said that no other owner has complained about this, and also indicated that since the car does not have 3000 miles on it yet that it still needs to be broken in.

Can anyone tell me if the dealer is correct?

G

·
0 Posts
Hi Saboeme:

___I would have to say no on the winter fuel question. I may be a bit off on the timing but the higher oxygenated (lower BTU/gallon) winter fuel went away in mid-March/first of April. I believe I have see an improvement while using it in my own Insight over the past 2 days but it might only be worth 2.0 mpg?

___As for low fuel economy, if you have a CVT, 48 mpg for a brand new driver sounds about right given the 65 - 75 mph speeds you are traveling at although I don’t have any idea as to the traffic conditions you see on a day to day basis or the technique(s) you are driving with. If your Insight had a 25 lmpg shown with let’s say 100 miles on the odometer and you are now at 500 miles (your 400 miles of travel) w/ 48 lmpg showing, you are doing darn good with an actual mileage of ~ 62.4 mpg of your own doing.