Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Shopping for a grid charger/discharger setup. Can anyone with prior experience with these weigh in with opinions? Also if there might be other options I'd be interested in hearing.

·
Registered
1,622 Posts
Prolong much better set up, easy use and never hear of much failures. Don’t buy the cheap ones on eBay. If you have any ability to solder homemade ones can be built for 100.

·
Premium Member
612 Posts
Shopping for a grid charger/discharger setup. Can anyone with prior experience with these weigh in with opinions? Also if there might be other options I'd be interested in hearing.
I have the Prolong Value Reconditioning package as seen here:

I made some changes to the discharger setup to make it easier to change the load based on the recommendations without changing light bulbs out. I have been using it for the past 4 years to nurse my original 2003's IMA battery. I have gotten all the life out of it I reasonably can and decided to do a full IMA delete.

Send a PM with an offer if you are interested.

·
Registered
2006 5MT Insight w/ warm air intake, grid charger and more!
139 Posts
Even though the Maxx Volts doesn’t have discharging, if you’re only going to get the cheapest version of the Prolong you might as well get the Maxx Volts instead and save yourself the $170. My Maxx Volts has worked well for the 2 years i’ve owned it, and I don’t have any complaints!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
172 Posts
RB batteries has some inexpensive options...

Never used their chargers, but I bought their harness and it was of good build quality.

I built OlRowdy01’s homemade charger/discharger system for <$100. It works great...

The big difference between the homemade or low-cost chargers and the high-end systems is that the expensive ones monitor and automate the charge/discharge process. At the cheap end, you end up checking things every hour or two for days.