Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Super Moderator
7,158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently in souther LA and am seeing some things which appear to be improvements. First, Bright sunlight on the roads seems to warm the road surface better, and allow the tires to run warmer. This looks like a genuine improvement of a few MPG.

Just put in a tank of mid grade fuel, and that also appears to allow the timing to run a bit more advanced, particularly with 115 IAT. Looks like a few MPG.

·
Premium Member
9,861 Posts
jime:

Southern LA or Los Angeles?

Willie

·
Super Moderator
7,158 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jime:

Southern LA or Los Angeles?

Willie
Louisiana for Mardi Gras:D

Having real warm weather here so I'm polishing up some of my technique and trying to learn more about the car. After all this time, I'm still learning, but the car so hard to calibrate that one doesn't really learn what one thinks he is learning;) I definitely think a warmer road surface is a big help.

·
Registered
443 Posts
I've popped in a few tanks of midgrade along the way. My calculated average with it is 1.1 MPG lower than with regular. I've got 58 fill ups w reg and 24 w mid. I wonder if there is a different BLEND being used down there. I know with diesel they switch between a winter blend and "regular." Maybe you are getting that good ol' warm region Bourbon St blend!

On a side note, our Dixieland band was down there this summer... Try to catch some of the really good sufft while you're down there! Maybe make it over to Preservation Hall. Get there early!

·
Super Moderator
7,158 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Maybe you are getting that good ol' warm region Bourbon St blend!

On a side note, our Dixieland band was down there this summer... Try to catch some of the really good sufft while you're down there! Maybe make it over to Preservation Hall. Get there early!
I've been personally consuming the Bourbon St blend;)