Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
A follow up as promised. Today I arrived back in NZ from a business trip to the US and only now had the chance to properly look at the new Honda Insight battery pack.

I am no expert on these things so I welcome your comments and corrections any any statements I make here.

The pack was picked up at the official Honda parts warehouse in Auckland New Zealand and I paid $800 NZD for it which is roughly $590 USD

Attached is an image of the box that the pack came in. It measures 22 x 23 x 11.5 inch. The next image shows you the content. A brand spanking new, scratch free battery pack filled with brand new looking cells. No signs of wear on bolts, wires. Everything looks unused and not refurbished.

So, ok it IS an Insight Pack, from Honda and it did NOT fall off the back of a truck as it came with a proper invoice. However, the pack did come with absolutely no warranty what so ever.

As a second hand story I hear from my wife it had something to do with clearing shelves at their Japanese warehouse. Apparently these packs need to be maintained while on the shelf. More about that later.

A closer look at the stickers on the box reveals the part number. I included an image as maybe someone might derive information from it that was unknown.

What is of interest to me is the manufacturer label. I always thought the cells came from Panasonic? However a quick google search on primeearth ev energy co resulted in this link which is interesting because it shows the development history which includes the Honda Insight cells. Company Philosophy | Primearth EV Energy Co., Ltd.