Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone seeing totally off-the-mark instrument calculations? I have an '01 5-speed, and on a recent 800+ mile trip across the country the MPG gauge for the trip was registering on the order of 57.5. Actual manual calculations done with an ordinary calculator at fill-ups were more on the order of 48.

Yes, the manual calculations were done beginning with a full tank, and calculating at subsequent fill-ups.

Now, I'm not necessarily crying at 48 mpg. It's a far cry from the 22 - 25 I see with my other vehicles. But 57+ would certainly be more desirable.

No lights are lit on the dash. Tires seem properly inflated.

Where might I start to get my manual calculations more in line with the computers'? I am new to Insighting. Perhaps there's a thread in here somewhere which the rest of you are more familiar that might read off a list of 10 or 15 things the beginner can check on his own.

·
Premium Member
9,861 Posts
I don't think you are using the trip buttons right.
Explain more.

·
Registered
938 Posts
just a hunch. you may be looking at the lifetime mpg. Like Willie said. more info would help (what mpg screen/mode ect are you veiwing)

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, I was using the range MPG function- the function that shows a double-sided arrow, as such: <=====> I simply reset the mpg which, as I understand it, calculates an mpg over a specific distance, from point A to point B. I reset it to 0 when I filled up, and after having driven 600+ miles over a 800+ mile course, the dash was registering 57.5, but manual calculation was more on the order of 48. By the time I was 600+ miles away from my starting point, I had stopped twice to fill up. Each fill-up was for about a half tank. I simply added up the two fill-up gallon purchases, and miles driven up to that point / gallons purchased = close to 48 mpg- a considerable discrepancy over the dash calculation.

·