Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HiHi everyone

My insight base lx 2010 is the first hybrid I've ever owned, bought it back on April 24. I have to say for my second car I love it more than my last car ('95 Honda Accord). As for mileage I get between 30 - 75 mpg (35 - 70 mph) depending on how I drive, average till my half tank on 89 octane (personally I hate octane 87) I drive around almost to 280 miles per half tank, so about 6 gallons as everyone says. I'm finding myself filling up every the days instead of probably 5 or 6 days. Even though it's my first time owning a hybrid, I've compared it to a Camry Hybrid 2014 (I think) and I see it matches it very well if not exceeds their mileage.

I'm finding ways to save more gas, probably modifying the computer or sending it to the dealer for a firmware upgrade if they have one. Should I put a different octane rating? The highest in Miami, Florida I've come across was 93 octane. Would it make a difference from the 89 I'm currently putting in?

And what would be your method of making the car better on mileage? I was used to racing so I got over performance after getting my insight so I'm doing a big leap down.

Thanks

·
Registered
831 Posts
Insight's definitely not a bad car for most transportation demands. If you and traffic can tolerate easy going, the car will exceed MPG ratings that are on the sticker by quite a bit. I don't get below 51-54 calculated MPG in summer and usually even better, but that said, I live in a rural area with gentle short hills for the most part. Speed limits are generally between 35 and 55 mph.

I use the car for errands and getting to the starting point of a bike rides and the like. My work commute was only 12 miles, all back roads, so absolutely no mad rush, and 4 to 5 stop signs depending on the route chosen. Several were available.