Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the Honda Insight and Hybrid all together. I just purchased a 2012 Honda Insight last week. It had 90 miles on it when I bought it. My question is if it is true that the motor needs to be "broken" in to get the best MPG? I am averaging about 41-42 on this tank. I have read several posts, but am not seeing anything specific about the 2012. Sorry if my question is below par

·
Registered
790 Posts
People usually do see better MPG as its driven more. After several thousand miles I'd say I gained a couple more MPG. Not terrifically amazing or anything, but hey.

Right now with it blazing hot outside with the A/C on whenever it's being driven I'm not getting any better than low 40's. I've had ECON off and on lately, too.

·
Registered
38 Posts
It'll take a little while to learn how to drive her to get the best mpg. Some people (me) try to get the most mpg every time I drive, and some people (my wife) just drive it like her previous car, a VW Passat (nice car, good power, but that's the problem). Do some reading about what it takes to be a hyper-miler or hyper-miler wannabe like me. Try it then choose which style is best. After 9k miles, when I drive with the air off I now get high 50's to mid 60's per mid in west suburban Chicago suburbs. That's now, in the winter it's not as good. My wife generally gets mid 40's to mid 50's now. On the Xway it's always less than 60 and often less than 55, but I don't do much Xway driving. On a trip to Washington DC and back in April I got about 52mpg real (not mid, mid was 54.5) quite a bit less than usual, but all Xway. I use fuelly to keep track of all my fuelups and put in what the mid says. The mid error goes up as the mpg goes up for me.

·
Premium Member
9,983 Posts
Welcome aboard. It can take about 10 thousand miles for the engine to break in and for changing the oil.