Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 165 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got one for free from my local yard and threw it on the Insight a while back for kicks. It fits fine and plugs right into the Insight wire harness (the plug direction is almost identical to the Insight). It is from the 1998-2002 Accord four cylinder 2.3L engine. Worked perfect for lean burn and all other driving. I have been using it for a few months just to make sure.

Not a single problem.

OEM Part #: 18710-PAA-A01
Standard Motor Products #: EGV980
Parts Geek #: 5981-01174093

They are available from the aftermarket for ~$80-90 NEW with free shipping (or $55 on eBay):

1998-2002 Honda Accord EGR Valve - Air Intake - OEQ 98-02 Accord EGR Valve - 5981-01174093 - PartsGeek

Used ones are $25 on eBay:

1999 Accord EGR valve | eBay

You're welcome :cool:

Attachments

·
Read Only
2,009 Posts
It is from the 1998-2002 Accord 2.3L engine. Worked perfect for lean burn and all other driving. I have been using it for a few months just to make sure.
I wonder whether its potentiometer wiper is oriented like that in the Insight model that seems to wear out the carbon potentiometer tracks.

·
Registered
946 Posts
Thanks a lot Jeff. I ordered one.

Last year, I clean the EGR on my father accord 98, I tough it looks like my insight one, but I never really check.

Finally a working solution!

·
Premium Member
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Great question. Now, if we can get somebody to open one up and take a look. ;)
They are not serviceable like the Insight ones. If you open one up, you're not getting it back together. That outer metal ring that holds the top sensor on the plunger assembly is machine crimped on. No way that I can see to get it off without cutting it.

I wonder if the aftermarket ones will handle lean burn properly. Fingers crossed!

-Bryan