Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Silver MT no AC
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to start out by Thanking Everyone in the forum, past and present, for the Epic Treasure Pile of information present on this forum, in general, for Gen 1 Insight cars. Before I bought my "new fancy car" I real all about it here, to see what I was getting into.

I'm a long time fan, first time owner. I studied the Insight when it was new, back in college, when I was working on Solar cars in Australia, as an example of low CV design and all the other bits. I wanted to get one, new, but couldn't justify it at the time. This was when it was new-- I remember driving early demo versions of the Prius and the Insight when we took our solar car to the car show in Sydney. So.. Anyways, always wanted one, never got one, and here we are today.

On a whim, about a month ago, I decided to search Craiglist in Denver for an Insight. Found a Gen 1 Insight, Silver, 127,000 miles, two owners. The original owner drove it to 115k miles, which is the last maintenance log entry in the manual. The last oil change was in 2017, at 123,000 miles, so someone was still caring for it, but that wasn't put in the maual. The second owner (who I bought it from) is a sort of hobby car collector, with a sea of random interesting cars. He followed the advice on the forum to clear the 1449 codes, but, well, this battery is original, is 18 years old now, and is definitely in Sad Shape. I doubt that a grid charge would do anything lasting or useful to a battery this old. That being said, 127-kmiles and 18-years of service from what is basically a $2,000 wear items seems pretty good to me. It costs more than that to do a head gasket for most cars, so, well, if I can get another 100kmiles out of this, we seem to have a winner. The rest of the car is immaculate, aside from Big Dent from where a tree fell fell on it just behind the gas fill door.