Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not one of the do it yourself people when it comes to changing the oil in my car. I've only had my Insight for about 3 months now and as far as mileage is concerned, I'm due to have it changed. But, on the dashboard it shows my oil life at 80%. When do you guys customarily change your oil and if you don't do it yourself, where do you take it? Would the preferred choice be to go to the dealer or would any place that changes oil do? I know the manual says to use Honda oil but is that really necessary? And is the oil filter proprietary? Sorry for the Newbie questions but, I'm an Insight Newbie.

·
Registered
210 Posts
@Cheech
If we are talking about the second generation.
Use any oil 0w20, as recommended in the user's manual.

For 2011 G2 at page 362 to 366: http://techinfo.honda.com/rjanisis/pubs/OM/M81111/M81111OM.PDF
The procedure for changing the oil is very simple:
* unscrew the splash guard
* unscrew the drain plug
* drain the oil
* replace the oil filter
* tighten the drain plug
* pour oil
Any owner or any service station will cope with this work.

Recommended materials:
821699974 Honda Ultra green oil 4L (replace ~3,5 L)
821799974 Honda Ultra Leo 0w20 4L
15400-RTA-003 Oil filter (Any compatible)
9410914000 Washer, Drain Plug

If you purchased a car with a high mileage, I also recommend changing the oil in CVT.

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
What do you mean “due as far as mileage”? You change the oil when it gets down to about 15% and the MID sets letter codes for the service required.

While it one can use any oil change place, it is important that they not overfill, overtighten the drain plug, use the proper oil, and reinstall the splash guard correctly. At a dealer the drain plug will get a fresh crush washer and have the drain plug torqued to spec. That is not happening at Quickylube.