Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:?: Newbie here...

Any advantage to using synthetic oil in the Insight manual trans? I just changed the oil in the engine to synthetic, like I use in all my vehicles. On the subject of octane...this old gearhead seems to think that the little 900cc mill might benefit from premium with that high compression ratio. But, then again, I suffer from 'old tech' thinkin'.

Thanx !

·
Registered
408 Posts
I'd keep using Honda transmission fluid in the Insight. The replacement interval is low enough and there's no telling what it will do to the efficiency. Synthetic might protect the syncro's a little better but it might also hurt mpg's. I was contemplating switching to some Redline MTL but decided to stick with the Honda stuff. As for fuel, I'm pretty sure people have tested high octane fuel and found it doesn't help mileage. This might be from the fact that the Insight not only has high compression ratio's but it also runs very lean so it needs a lot of compression to ignite so little fuel.

·
Premium Member
4,942 Posts
Remember that Honda MT's use _engine_ grade oils in the 10w-30,40 range.

If you drive in the _hyper_ MPG style then _theoretically_ synthetic MTF (10w-30 engine oil) should help some small percentage.

But in some situations its too slippery and the synchros won't grab correctly causing gear rake (you'd feel it when shifting). The only solution in that case is to switch back to Honda's special MTF blend (or probably a good quality 10w-30,40 motor oil).

I use in in all my Hondas and have for many years without problems. But as in all thing automotive YMMV. (total aggrigate miles in 4 Hondas of 500K+)

The "best" grade for an Insight has been "debated" to death in here (I hope ;) ) try the forum search feature :!: There are several threads on both your questions :!:

HTH! :)

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
kapps said: