Honda Insight Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first thread here, and I want to say that I think this forum seems to have a nice group of members.

I became the owner of a 2001 Honda Insight 6 days ago. I work as a power generation engineer for Microsoft, and before this job, I worked in the racing engine part design for 7 years.

I bought the car with the intent of swapping the engine to a Honda k24a2, however, I think it would be much more a challenge to reach my power goals with the stock engine.

The stock engine is very de-tuned. Specific output (hp/L) is very low, which is to be expected for an engine that has a 6200rpm ceiling, but this doesn't explain the low specific torque (ft-lbs/L).

On an engine with so many outstanding and exotic measures taken to reduce Fmep (frictional loss), I expected to see excellent BSFC (brake specific fuel consumption). (BSFC is the measure of how much useful energy an engine creates per unit of fuel.) I was dissapointed.

I started to design a cam profile better optimized towards my needs, and I was very thrilled with the mechanical limits and properties of the valvetrain. I also measured the stock (true lift) lift at the valves.

First, some pictures of our beautiful valvetrain design. If you note the use of needle bearings in most piviots (excludeing intake rocker shaft piviot which appears to be a bushing), the use of forged aluminum exaust rockers, and other weight saving measures, you will see that no expense was spared in its construction.

Above picture.
http://www.ejlin.com/albums/album41/DSCF0601.sized.jpg
[mod edit: Removed img function. Please see the rules. Links to appropriate pics always welcome]

Picture of beautiful forged aluminum exaust rockers. Note the thin washers to retain the needles on each side of the rocker where it mounts to the shaft.
http://www.ejlin.com/albums/album41/DSCF0607.sized.jpg