Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All;
This is my first post although I have been visting the site since 2002.
I own a 2001 with 66K on it now and still love my Insight.

Unfortunatly, I started my car yesterday morning, and discovered that I had no power assist. Nothing would even show on the power assist gauge. The charging system is fully functional and I now have a 100% charge (which I have only ever seen once before on a downhill trip through Vermot). That next morning on the way to the dealership the 'check engine' light came on.
The Honda dealership called me this morning to tell me that the oxygen sensor was bad. The shock was that they also told me that the price was about $450 dollars. "$450 BUCKS FOR AN OXYGEN SENSOR!???" I said. What about my warranty and my extended 160km warranty? Their reply was that the "warranty finished at 60,000km and "oops sorry, but your extended warrantly does not cover the oxygen sensor." hmmm, it is sounding like this could be a very expensive car to own after warranty...

Has anyone else had to replace an oxygen sensor? If so, how much was it? Is it just me or is a $450 sensor a somewhat ridiculous price?

Also it does seem rather odd that I lost electric assist a full day before the check engine light cam on. Also that an oxygen sensor would disable electric boost but not electric charging.

Comments, thoughts, opions or recommendations are much appreciated...

Best regards,
Stephen

·
Registered
804 Posts
I was lucky to have my OEM oxygen sensor fixed a couple of years ago for $200 because replacement was estimated at $800. :shock:

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Hmm, here in the States the Insight's have 8 years 80K on the emissions components. Oxygen sensors should be included. You might check your warranty guide.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the feedback Rick;