Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a newbie to the I1 but not new to hypermiling. Thru the first 600 miles I have averaged 60.1mpg. I do the same route to work every day and noticed when I just set the cruise at 60mph or P&G up to about 61-62 then glide back to 55, and repeat I see NO appreciable change in my mpg, for a 60 miles round trip. Im questioning weather P&G for a CVT is a smart thing to do based on how the transmission works ( Im not an expert on the how the CVT works) just guessing that Im unloading the trans during glide. The gliding may be causing trans slipping and then re-engaging during the pulse causes more direct drive, so that might be defeating the whole purpose of P&G and thus the reason why the MT have a such an advantage with P&G due to direct drive?

Who has good results from P&G with a CVT, verses just cruise control at a moderate speed?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
warmer = better

Im thread jacking my own thread LOL. We had a bit of heat wave here in MI this week and its in the 70's. My mileage is wayyy up. I can easily touch 70mpg in the 45-50 mph range. I couldnt do that when temps were in the 30's and 40's...time for the hot box mod!

·
Premium Member
9,983 Posts
Yeah, these cars seem sensitive to the heat and I am lucky to break 150 degrees engine coolant temp in stop n go driving with auto stop working each stop. I got 3/4 of the lower grill blocked off and it hovers between 179-181 degrees.

·
Registered
232 Posts
I find most of my success with the i2 is between 45-20mpg shifting to nitral and coasting.
Not sure what you mean by 45-20mpg, maybe mph. But shifting to neutral to coast is bad for the CVT. It has been discussed many times. If you are coasting in neutral you should not be going back to drive at any speed greater than say 4mph or you will cause excess wear to the start clutch.