Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Insight is going through a total front clip replacement....cut off the old one,weld on the new one...The shop seems to be very competent,and are bringing in an experienced welder....

I bought the car wrecked,with 78K on it.I have never driven an Insight,but I am a decent mechanic having raced mosickles for a long time.

Just wondering if you experts can tell me what to check when I pick the car up....I will be flying in,picking it up,and leaving immediately for a 1000 mile trip back home....Look for warning lights,charge indicator,etc?

So if you have any suggestions,please post what I should look for...assuming the chassis is straight(computer printout of alignment)and hoodlines match up...The car went offroad...hit nothing,bottomed out hard.Airbags did not deploy..

Any ideas greatly appreciated,as I will not know how the thing is supposed to feel......I can't find one around here to test drive ....

Thanks much...very much!Bob

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Hmm, that's kind of a tough one to describe fully. Her goes.

Steering should be nice and tight, point and steer with a lot of understeer. I'd make sure everything looks hooked up properly . There should be a temperature sensor on the lower front grille, if this is not there it will prevent the car from auto stopping. Things I've seen in "repaired" cars, they will leave out parts. Look to see the lower front grille is there, make sure there are seals on the back of the headlights. I'd also inspect the welds they do very closely and make sure they are sound since we're talking major reconstruction here.