Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
New to the party
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2000 manual Insight with 165K miles. Its lifetime is only 42 MPG. I have been driving as gentle am possible but it is only showing 44 MPG for the current tank. From all the threads I have read that is impossibly low.

Problems I know of:
1) Tires, they are worn out and a brand i have never heard off, I have a set of OEM tires on order
2) Underbody panels, they are gone
3) IMA battery seems pretty weak, if I do full throttle it will only give full boost for 1-3 seconds then a few bars for awhile after that and has re-calibrated a few times.

I am an engineer and I bought this car because I love the lengths they went to to save weight. I am willing to spend some real money, including replacing the IMA battery if necessary, but I don't want to pour money in only not to get results. Any thoughts on what I should attack would be appreciated. From other threads maybe I need new spark plugs or to clean the EGR, I just have no idea what could leave me 20 MPG out of the hunt. Thanks

·
Premium Member
9,658 Posts
Worn tires are your biggest obstacle. New ones will DEFINATELY help. Up the tire pressure to 50psi.Try to drive without useing excesive IMA assist. Sounds like your IMA battery is on the way out. Underpanels will help your mileage above say roughly 45mph.
There are numerous threads about how to drive on this site.
Learn to drive with an "egg" under the gas pedal. , coast whenever possible.
HTH
Willie

·
Registered
811 Posts
a few things that probably will help:
-a grid charger to keep the ima battery in better shape
- cleaning the egr plate
- check the 2 ground straps in the engine compartment and replace if broken
- try to stay in "lean burn" more
-mileage depends a lot on amount of "city" driving vs "highway"
- using A/C kills the mpg

·
Premium Member
1,427 Posts