Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would you believe that as a young auto mechanic I had the audacity to posit that spare tires carried in automobiles might be relics of a bygone era? Well, I did; and now stand humbly corrected thanks to my Insight.

In the 35k miles I've driven my 2000 Insight, I've had two blowouts and several punctures - all in the back. I am now to the point of joking that this is the first car on which I'll wear out the spare and perhaps also the jack.

I'm sure Murphy's Law could explain that by adding complexity to the process of changing a tire (fender skirts), the likelihood of flat tires occurring there are exponentially increased.

Though It's funny to joke about Murphy's law and how it applies to fender skirts I do believe there is a reasonable explanation for the seemingly increased propensity to get flat tires on the rear of my Insight. I assure you that the thought of my wife having an increased risk of having to deal with a flat tire out on the road is NOT FUNNY.

I have two thoughts about why my Insight seems to be statistically about ten-times more likely to get a flat tire than the other cars I have driven. (No bull. I figure I've seen six flats on the Insight in 35k miles and about the same number in all the other miles I have ever driven.)

1. The tires suck. They roll well but seem to be easily damaged by road debris etc. I don't think that point can really be argued. It's a near fact as far as I am concerned. I'm looking for alternatives. They are, perhaps, substantially more likely to puncture as well.