Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on putting together a charging system for my 2008 Civic. I've installed a homemade harness and I have an Bio Rad electrophoresis power supply for high voltage. For PWM I've tried a few things: shorting with various resistors, from 100 to 100k, an Arduino microcontroller, a 555 timer chip, and a 2-channel PWM generator with adjustable frequency/duty cycle.

So far everything I've tried has the same effect as when I short it with a resistor: the fan cycles on and off repeatedly. It still seems to be moving air fairly well, but I don't understand why it doesn't respond to pwm. I've tried various frequencies and duty cycles, as well as different methods on the Arduino for generating the signal.

I've read many threads here and elsewhere, but I haven't seen much specifically about signal for the 2nd gen Civic. Thanks for your help.

·
Premium Member
3,415 Posts
You need abut 100W to run the Fan at full blast, and it readily exceeds 2A at very low speeds.

That's the easy way. Get a 10A/12V PSU for $18, short the PWM wire to fan ground and run it full blast.

The cycling you're seeing is your power supply overloading, shutting off and restarting.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting, I had assumed the 3 amp supply I had on there would be more than enough. I have a spare 450W ATX power supply which should do the job for the moment, I believe.

The power supply is another issue. I need to get it to stop throwing no-load errors or switch to something else. Based on other threads, it seems like putting a resistor or diode on the circuit might work.

·
Premium Member
3,415 Posts
You absolutely, positively need a diode in the line, or you run the risk of damaging the supply. They are not designed for inductive loads but pure resistive loads - they don't like it when the battery pushes back on them.