Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all Im new to this forum =)
anyhow, I want you to know i dont have an insight but started reading about them tonight and am definatly amazed at their technology and now Im fiending one!!!!!!
I have a S10 V6 Xtreme right now and yeah it gets me from home to work and back and yeah, but the trip cost me 4$ in gas!!!!!!!
I now realize i can make that same trip and have it cost about 4cents.
I am so excited, I really hope I can get one.
I do have a question, I live in Phoenix, AZ and driving on freeway inner city is about avg of 70mph and I go that speed in my truck.
I am a extreemly conservative driver, I take off slow and let off the gas really early before a light.
I am just wondering....do you all think this car is capable enough to maintain a 70 say 90mph cruise on a freeway?? Thats my only concern is that compared to my truck it will lack at high speeds in acceleration capabilities....I have read that it will not be the same at high speeds ... but how much of a difference ...like something I will drastically dread or...something that I am expecting the right amount of?
Its not often that I have to accelerate quickly in my truck at 60-80mph but sometimes...u just gotta u know...gotta pass the annoying people.
So, thats one of my concerns as of now =)
Oh and I am considering maybe buying an older one like a 2001-2003 model Insight.
Can anyone point me too or list the major differences between the 2000 to 2004 models? thanks =)

·
Registered
652 Posts
I don't think you are going to find any car that maintains 70 mpg at 90 mph. If you get a 5 speed limit the speed to 70 mph and use the A/C you will likely get 60+ mpg. At 90 mph the fuel economy is likely to be 45-50. My advise is to go test drive the Insight with your driving style. If you like it you will probably become one of those slow people in the right lane from time to time.

·
Registered
12 Posts