Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone thanks again for so much help in the last 4 weeks since I bought this car. I opted for the Bumblebee Beeline battery and bought the upgraded 3 year warranty (thanks @Eli). I've put 150 miles on the car since and have become a bit familiar with the new IMA driving characteristics after being in gas only mode for a month. I have a few questions:

1, There is a slight but noticeable jitter every time the IMA engages, and then I see the ASSIST light up a few bars. It's sort of like the clunk of an automatic tranny shifting on an older car. Is this normal or should it be imperceptible? If this isn't normal, what could the issue be?

2, Even after IMA and a new OEM rear motor mount I am still getting a bit of jerkiness when reversing up a steep hill. Is that normal, and if not what could the issue be? Tranny is super smooth otherwise...upshifts and downshifts...maybe I'm still learning this clutch but I have much experience with MTs so that's hard to believe.

3, After 150 miles on the Bumblebee battery I'm at about half a charge (50%), it started at full but it has slowly depleted. See pic below. I'm not driving it hard at all - getting about 56mpg in the city and since IMA install I've only hammered it a few times to get an idea of what it's capable of. Mostly super gentle driving. Is it supposed to stay mostly charged all the time or is it normal for it to slowly deplete? If that's the case, what happens when it depletes all the way? It's a refurbished battery so it seems that would not be what should be happening but I don't know how these work.

Thanks for your help!!!

·
Premium Member
Chicago & Detroit
887 Posts