Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,933 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been testing a fix I did to my rear motor mount since Nov 2014 and it is still working very well. So why wait so long to talk about it?

I wanted to make sure the caulking I used wasn't going to fall out of the mount. I also noticed that the 900 rpm idling vibration was slowly being reduced over the time of about a month. I assume that the caulking was partially separating from the original flexible part of the motor mount but not enough to be loose or fall out. I also made a small but critical change in the caulking after analyzing what was going on in regard to NVH.

I have moved my website to a new domain and host and I thought now would be a good time to present my findings to entice people to change their bookmarks when they go to the read the article at my new new olrowdy.com domain.

The caulking I used is Silicone. I also present why I think the fixes so far sometimes have way too much NVH and what I did to try to correct that. Basically the resonant frequency of the whole motor mount assembly was changed too much with the caulks as used so far.

Overall NVH vibration etc is non existent with my modified mount as long as the engine RPM is above resonant frequency the floor of the car. That frequency seems to occur at 900 rpm or less when you stuff the mount with caulking.

I reset my idle to 1000 rpm and there is no vibration off idle and very little with the A/C running at an idle now. Normally I don't run the A/C in the ON mode anyway.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I see that you are using just plain Silicone caulk?

I know many people in the import performance world will use 3M "window weld." I don't know how it stacks up to your silicone...but I do know the window weld has taking a beating from various people and it has help up.

I am going to be using the window weld for my rear mount.

·
Premium Member
331 Posts