Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've identified the car stereo I'd like to replace Honda's stock stereo with. It is an Aiwa.

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-cjsO8xuo5W ... 055CDCX144

My question, will this stereo place any strain on the Insight's electronics? I'm no expert in this area, but I've seen references in other postings about limitations to what can be installed in terms of sound systems.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated !

·
Registered
700 Posts
You will be fine. Plug it right in. They will send you the harness adaptor, too....

G

·
Hi Dmaurer:

___Are you sure you wouldn’t like to climb the scale just a bit and install a head unit that can play MP3’s as well? Given how loud the automobile is at 60 on the hwy, an MP3 ripped at even 128 sounds as good as a CD in my experience.

___If you do come across a Head unit that can play both cassettes, CD’s, and MP3’s yet fits in the same space, please let me know … Books on Tape are coming in Books on CD format more and more and I really need both …

___As for the mileage loss, I am beginning to think there is a pretty large hit with any electrical accessory use myself. It is usually a bit colder for my night time commutes of course but I am consistently seeing a 4 - 6 mpg hit from segment to segment when driving to work at night w/ the headlights on then when driving back in the morning without. This alone almost has me considering a HID kit given the much lower power use after light off occurs …

___Good Luck

___Wayne R. Gerdes
___Hunt Club Farms Landscaping Ltd.
___[email:3289btkz][email protected][/email:3289btkz]

·
Registered
652 Posts
Wayne,
I notice the same but is it the headlights or the cooler temp after sunset that is causing it. I suppose we could test it by driving with the lights on in the daytime followed by the lights off. Perhaps I will give it a try this Thursday. Have fun, Rick

·
Premium Member
679 Posts