Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know how to remove the front timing cover on the Insight engine. is it necessary to remove the oil pan to do so? Trying to do a head gasket job on my old insight. or does anyone know where you can get a shop manual for one of these cars?

·
Registered
122 Posts
Helps if you give year and generation of car

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
4,836 Posts
Not necessarily. Users make this mistake all the time. And if he had done any searching at all he would have found the answers to his questions.

Sam

·
Registered
122 Posts
I’m a technician so it’s important to know year make model engine and trans to supply the correct information to help I know he most likely has a G1 but did they make any changes to the timing or engine design between 2000-2006 most others have minor improvements over the first year cars

·
Premium Member
9,950 Posts
No significant changes.

James91:
Please include your Location in your Profile.

·
Super Moderator
7,308 Posts
Does anyone know how to remove the front timing cover on the Insight engine. is it necessary to remove the oil pan to do so? Trying to do a head gasket job on my old insight. or does anyone know where you can get a shop manual for one of these cars?
You can download the Service Manual (i.e. shop manual) from this link:

You will have to unzip the thing and it is huge, but usable.

It normally isn't necessary to remove the timing chain cover to do a head gasket job. Search on head gasket repair. Several write-ups are in the archive.

The Service Manual comes up occasionally on eBay. It originally cost about $60, but it is out of print so a seller's market. This one is currently listed. A bit expensive, but they list "make an offer." You might get them down a bit.

·
Registered
59 Posts