Honda Insight Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Because I love the outdoors and snowboarding and lugging the family and whoever else I can fit, I purchased an H2. It serves its purpose in that regard. However, all those other times, like when I'm by myself commuting to work, going to the bank, the grocery store, etc. I started to feel how extremely wasteful I was in such a big truck. Particularly when I started doing the math. For example, a 33 mile round trip to a friend's house cost me about $9.00 in gas (11.8 lmpg). WOW!

Enter in the Insight. I now enjoy the 50+ MPG I get from this little car and and don't mind the little drives to the bank, groceries, post office. And only costs $30 to fill up! Amazing!

I am still learning and practicing all the techniques presented here in this site and am amazed at the efficiency this car can bring when driven in ideal conditions.

Currently, I have achieved a personal best of 102.9 mpg on a 16 mile one-way trip to a cousin's house.

·
Registered
366 Posts
I have always wanted an H1 so I can understand your reasoning.

My Insight's name is Edison and the licence plate frame says "Edison- the Anti Hummer".

·
Registered
40 Posts
I'm a bit embarassed to admit we are a two person household with 3 cars,
(2 Subarus and the 2003 Insight). Sometimes you need to carry more than 2 people or a lot of cargo. The Insight is the perfect car for my 48 mile commute.

We know a family of 3 that owns a Prius and a Ford Explorer.

Gene

·
Registered
274 Posts
Insight (55mpg) and Toyota 4Runner (17mpg). 4Runner used only to tow boat and haul 3 dogs around.

·
Registered
536 Posts
I find it interesting that minivans with their one box design are the most space efficient for carrying bulk items and yet due to their family image are shunned by the 4x4 crowd.
They always use the can carry anything excuse for justifying the monster 4x4 purchase.