Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I say Puddle.... I really mean small pond! I was driving to a workshop to get some work done on my race car. I slowed down to 15 mph to cross what looked like a small puddle in the road.

But no, stupid Atlanta and thier horrible drainage had left me a suprise half a foot deep pond in the middle of the road. The force of the water hitting the underbody covers on my car bent some of them backward. Now they are scraping on the ground!

I am going to take them off. I called the honda dealership today to price some new ones. The guy at the desk told me he didn't think the part I wanted existed and that I should bring the car in for service!

I am going to pull the panels off and take a look. As an Aerospace engineer, I do see some small benifit to the drag coefficicent of the car from these thigns. But if I can find a honda dealer that belives that they exist, I probably wouldn't pay more than 30 dollars for them!

Any one have a source for the part?

·
Registered
489 Posts
When you say "race car," do you mean an Insight or some other car? Lots of race cars have underbody diffusers, so it's kind of ambiguous, though since it's on this forum it suggests to me that you are talking about an Insight.

·
Registered
408 Posts
From what I understand, he's talking about the underbody of the Insight. It's that panel that bolts/clips on under the engine/tranny. I honestly wouldn't be surprised that the dealer has no clue what your talking about. I don't trust my Insight to the dealer unless it's something only they can do...and even then they manage to forget the engine cover bolts or something.

If they still can't find the part when you take it to them, try a Google search for Insight parts and you might find a place that has them.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #4