Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
679 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am teaching an all automatic person (like the GoGo's song) to drive 5spd using the 5spd Insight, and it seems like it is maybe harder than it should be.

I wonder, perhaps I am a sucky teacher?

On the other hand, I also wonder if the tall gearing and wee little 3 cylinders add up to make it harder to learn smooth starts in an Insight vs. some other manual transmission vehicle.

Has anyone else trained someone for the first time with the Insight as the trainer?

figgy

p.s. I did weld on training wheels so we won't tip over. Pics to follow!

·
Registered
408 Posts
Well 1st off, the starts might be a bit harder because of the 3 cylinders. You really have to rev it up to 2k rpm and slowly let off on the clutch (not too easy for a learner...I still remember those days :idea: ). Shifting, on the other hand, should be much easier since the Insight had no torque. This means you can almost completely let off on the clutch before you give it gas. It would buck like crazy if I did that in my MINI. It takes practice, as you know, and if you learn on an Insight, you should be fine with any other car (albeit with a few changes in throttle and clutch position). Maybe you can just work on clutch engaugement for a while - keep it in 1st and have the student slowly lift the clutch to the point that it just begins to catch and repeat. This will let them learn exactly when everything starts happening. Just give it time...in a little while, your student will be able to launch without even using the assist.

One thing to watch out for on the Insight is that the syncros on the gearbox don't seem to be as good as other cars. The gears will grind if you shift too fast. Make sure they shift smooth and not just throwing it into the next gear. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
75 Posts