Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Insight has radically altered the driving style of this leadfoot... while at car shows I've approached the CHP officers manning their display booths with the question: "What is the minimum speed limit while driving in the right lane on California freeways?"

Judging by the quizzical looks on their faces, they'd never been hit with this one - and their answers varied. Evidently there is no minimum speed law (disclaimer - I'm no lawyer and this isn't legal advice). They said that generally it is not a problem if you go 10mph under the posted speed limit for your vehicle (e.g., 55mph for posted 65mph and for trucks on the same roadway, 45mph for their 55mph - go figure). They also said that you must not be obstructing traffic or you'd be ticketed, to which I emphasized that I was talking about the RIGHT lane which, as we all know when we drive 55, means you're obstructing 99.9% of the traffic and that everyone has to move over to pass you (some later than sooner - think I'll start a collection of grill photographs). They left that response hanging... bottom line is that I still haven't received a solid answer. Anyway, so far the CHP has ignored me and probably never even noticed my 50-60+mph constantly-varying speeds as they zoom by. Don't worry, in heavy traffic I DO speed up and go with the flow.

I'm curious, has anyone here ever been stopped and admonished for driving too slowly :?:

If I ever got such a ticket I think I'd have it framed, as none of my long-time friends would believe me! :lol: JoeS.

·
Registered
116 Posts
I think as a general rule, 10 mph under the posted speed limit is acceptable. For instance, driving 40 mph on a freeway marked 65 mph may make you the target of some nasty gestures and close calls with people who are not paying enough attention. On the freeway, I try to keep within 15 mph of the speed limit. This means not dipping below 50 mph.