Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hmm. This morning I checked my tires when the car seemed sluggish, and i was a few pounds low on the right front tire. (This is judging by the little tire minder--all of yellow ring showing)
Since I was late for a meeting, I just decided to fill the tire on the way home. Temp was about 55F.

On the way home, I decided I didn't want to put air in the tire in a skirt, heels, and hose, so I just drove straight home to change. When I looked at the tire, it was green again! Temp was about 75F.
Would temperature really make that much of a difference? It seems unlikely to me, but I'm still an Insight newbie.

Also, during all this tire scrutiny, i noticed the outer ring of my tread is really worn. Is that a normal function of running our tires at a higher pressure? (40psi for me).
Hmm, indeed.

·
Registered
700 Posts
Yep, temp makes a difference, just guessing at up to 10 psi in usual conditions. pv=nrt

These tires, assuming you have the Bridgestone re92's, wear on the outside edges more than expected. I replaced the originals when I bought mine with 29k miles, and they were worn out on the outside edges. I have 10k miles on a new set now, at 50 psi, and absolutely no visible wear on any of the tires.

bug_girl said:
On the way home, I decided I didn't want to put air in the tire in a skirt, heels, and hose, .....
I know what you mean....wait, no I don't.

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Yep deffinitely. I keep mine inflated to 50 psi and out of curiosity one day hot checked it on a hot day and they were all at 65 psi. And in all likely hood they were cold inflated to less than 50 because it had been a while since I had checked at that point in time.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
First, i'm really glad that you moved out of "In Payne", Holicow!
Hope you are feeling better.