Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Turd Nugget 2000: A bedeviled K24a_ swap build

This thread will be the transformation of a dead, 300k Insight into a relatively modest daily driven street sleeper with decent mpg. Input from members highly encouraged as I'm honestly out of my depth on a few things, namely mounts and wiring, possibly the LCA/ball joint issue. Sure, it's been done before (and better) but I don't have a lift, cherry picker (yet), excess space, and my lone power tool is a recently purchased Milwaukee Li-ion ratchet. I've been dreaming of this swap for 2 years. I've read every page of every other K-series build and regretfully did not take more notes. It was either get busy on the damn thing or seek medication lol.

Goals: Budget conscious where possible, 5 speed manual and 200hp, cruise control and AC. 40-50mpg. "[ ]" means it has been purchased/have.

Previous swaps: '89 CRX HF + D15Z1 twelve years ago and '97 Civic Hatchback DX + D16Y5 five years ago. LEGOS compared to this swap.

Engine: ['04 TSX K24a2 with assorted drive by wire for cruise control]. May opt for the K24 out of an Accord to alleviate drive by wire throttle issues and run 87 octane. If not I'm satisfied with what I have.

Transmission: '03-07 Accord 5 speed manual and cables. Stock Insight shifter box. Flywheel and clutch TBD.

Mounts: Barring Brian at Hasport making a group buy batch may have to cobble something together. My welding experience is 4 minutes above fresh noob and that was 10 years ago. Innovative kit would place the engine too far forward and low for my taste as others have mentioned.

Axles: Some have used '94-01 GSR + EP3 or custom but I won't know until the engine is mounted and lengths measured.