Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I got my 2000 Honda insight about a week ago the only 2 problems that were specified to me was the IMA battery was dead and the a/c wasn't working. The IMA wasn't a problem. I easily bypassed it. The a/c she said needed replacing because she explained it was integral to the operation of the serpentine belt. I found out from some very helpful people in these forums that the a/c as well could be bypassed with a non-a/c belt configuration. But someone told me as long as the belt could freewheel it wouldn't need to be replaced or bypassed. When I got the car I started it to see what the belt did and it appeared to freewheel just fine. It squeeled a little every time I started it but once she got going it was real good.

I work as a salesman and I drive a lot. In the short time I've had her I've put on about 800 miles and everything seemed great. Then one day, in the morning I started her to start my day. Nothing too out of the ordinary. But I did need to turn the key a little extra long before she started. Happened a second time that day and then by the third time she just wouldn't start! Luckily I was at a family members house at least.

She wants to start. She's cranking but nothing happens. I'm not much of a mechanic. I first thought that it might be a battery problem because of the fact that I'm driving her with just the 12v. So I tried jumping her and the same thing was happening, only this time I held the key for a little while and she started shaking so I stopped. I hope I didn't hurt anything major. My wife noticed that when I tried starting her, the belt wasn't moving. Could that have something to do with it? If the a/c pulley was locked up finally could that stop her from starting? Any and all help would be enormously appreciated!!! Thank you all!

·
Registered
4,008 Posts