Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
IMA light came on with these error codes: P 1601, 1649, 1444, 1447
It was suggested that I charge, which I'm doing with the key on.
Reading more threads subsequently, there is lots of encouragement to do a long slow discharge before recharging.
Should I do this, and if so how?
I'm not a mechanic but can follow instructions. Photos of the charger I have are posted on this thread from earlier.
Any advice welcome.
Thanks.

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
IMA light came on with these error codes: P 1601, 1649, 1444, 1447
It was suggested that I charge, which I'm doing with the key on.
Reading more threads subsequently, there is lots of encouragement to do a long slow discharge before recharging.
Should I do this, and if so how?

Do NOT do a discharge first! Do a 24 to 35 hour grid charge first.

I'm not a mechanic but can follow instructions. Photos of the charger I have are posted on this thread from earlier.
Any advice welcome.
Thanks.
The label on the charger case is for when the case was a computer power supply. Disregard those numbers.

Go to my website and read the Insight grid charger/discharger article to learn about charging etc. I also show how to build your own discharger which uses a short piece of a wood board, two old fashioned light bulbs and two sockets for the bulbs. I used a long vacuum cleaner power cord to connect the discharger so I could have the bulbs in my garage to check the voltage.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The label on the charger case is for when the case was a computer power supply. Disregard those numbers.