Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Insight, Automatic, RED, lots and lots of miles.
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

My much beloved little red 2005 Insight got a new IMA battery in August 2018. I'm not a mechanic and don't even have a place to work except out in the street, so yeah, I had to have it done at the dealership. Ugh. $$$. But my local guy wouldn't mess with it. She now has 250K+ miles on her, lifetime MPG is still hanging on at 47.5 (she's an automatic, and I live in Texas and AC is not negotiable - it's 92 outside as I type this!) and really, she's hardly given me any problems. Paint is looking thin on top, some loose odds and ends. BUT I LOVE HER.

But yesterday.....

Yesterday I was driving in town and the Check Engine light AND IMA light came on; I pulled over, killed the engine, restarted, and the check engine light stayed on. (IMA did not.) O'Reilly couldn't pull the code, but AutoZone did - P1564. Commutator C high voltage. Local guy again said he wouldn't do it. I checked for chewed wires, I reset the check engine light, I glossed through the 400 page repair guide on how to replace the sensor, and now I have to call the local dealership. Battery gauge was full yesterday, but completely empty today.

I got laid off with the COVID-19, and fear this is going to be as expensive as the battery. I know my driving habits changed substantially in March, she's used to getting lots of drive time and it's down to 2-3 trips around town per week. Still - did that cause this? Is it just bad luck?

Most importantly.... since I'm no mechanic, shade tree or otherwise... does this signal the end? How do you decide???? I always said I'd drive her until I absolutely could not anymore - but it's not always easy to recognize when that day arrives.

Is it here?

·
7,181 Posts
I wouldn't throw in the towel just yet; maybe you'll get lucky and it's just a computer.