Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

My name's Jeff, I'm a high school student who, up until recently, was converting a '77 Porsche 924 to electric power.

That story ended, the in-progress conversion project was passed on to someone who would be more able to complete it, but damn if I still don't need a car.

I have strong prospects of getting a '94 Caddy Deville from my grandmother, which she'd cover insurance on. That would translate to me paying for nothing except gas...which is a regrettable 13 MPG of premium. While this would be FAR more economical than buying my own car and insuring it, I just don't feel right wasting that much fuel, and pumping out massive amounts of emissions.

I sort of feel like the only way I can justify exhausting my small but hard-earned bank account is if I get a vehicle that undercuts that terrible consumption by a big margin, and the Insight does that. I know a good deal of the ups and downs of hybrids from my time in the EV circuit, and I’ve read through a lot of posts on this forum. I can honestly say I’m excited at the prospect of owning an Insight of my own. Unfortunately, I've been able to find only TWO within 100 miles of me, one for 13k, the other for 9k, and both outside of my price range.

I'm located in Central MA. Anyone know of some cars for sale around here? And do you think I should spend my money on a car of my own, or just accept the burden of the Cadillac and save it for expenditure during college?

Thanks for your aid and advice!

-Jeff

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Under 9K? Hmmm, maybe, but your only chance at finding at that price would be to look for a high mileage one on eBay (I'm talking in the 100K mile range for that price).

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Philosophy said:
I got my 00 with 50k miles for a little over 8k. It can be done.

-Phil
That's exactly what I'm looking for!