Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm an insight newbie, and I'm now the proud owner of a 2006 manual. I live in the middle of the yukon and we regularly get -40 c for up to weeks, down to -50 occasionally. I'm doing all the standard vehicle winterizing - block heater, pan heater, piece of cardboard, and starter battery blanket, but my concern is the IMA. If it sits for a week at -40 will it be toast? Should I be keeping the heat up in the IMA at all times when it is that cold? I'm not so keen on running so much power to the car when I'm not using it and only driving it on weekends, but if that's what I have to do that's what I will do!!

Any tips about using the vehicle in such extreme winter cold, the kind where anything plastic shatters, would be appreciated. I full expect mpg to suffer.

Cheers,
Laird

·
Premium Member
3,641 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

You may get the award for the "Northern-Most Insight". Extreme climate is harsh on the systems, as you are aware. The owners manual specifies the optimal temperature range IIRC.

My electric car has Lithium Ion battery, so not the same as The G1, but it even protects the system by preventing startup in -25 F or colder weather. This has gotten some folks stranded, as they do fine when leaving a preheated garage in the morning, then park in the elements at work (unplugged) and the car/batteries cool below the threshold. I suspect you probably have 110v outlets in most public parking areas for engine plugs, so you may get away with your plan, depending on your driving distances.

Remember that the car is low, and the front spoilers (underbelly) do not like to mingle with snow, slush, and water puddles. Recommend removing them before inadvertent damage. Happened to me twice.