Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been researching and shopping for an Insight for a couple of months now. I have test driven two, and even made a 700 mile round trip last Saturday to buy one (upon inspection it had been in a severe accident so I declined to buy it). That being said, I have another one that I have set my sights on, and would like y’all to chime in.

The car in question: 2000, 5 speed, 60K miles, 47 lmpg, one owner, with IMA/batteries replaced in 2004 (@ 50K miles).

They have performed all scheduled check-ups, have the receipts from them, and appear to be fairly knowledgeable about their hybrid.

Unfortunately, the SOC is very low in the picture they sent me, but that may be due to the typical short commute (16 miles). Or maybe not?!?! I will see upon my test drive I guess. Any thoughts?

The car looks very clean inside and out (from their pics), but it was in a “minor” fender bender in 2000. Car Fax says the title is clean, and the owners are faxing me the repair receipt. Apparently the rear bumper was the only damage. We’ll see (fingers crossed).

The total miles (60K) and LMPG (47) both are low. That's good and bad. I Inquired w/ the owner. The story goes: Seldom driven. Short trips when driven. 60/40 highway/city. The owner is a self described semi-speeder on highways (I don’t think she races to and from traffic lights though).

So, please place your vote. Is this car worth pursuing? This is a tough scenario for me to decide on...... This Insight was loved, but was in an accident. It has low mileage, but also low LMPG and SOC. Please help.

YEAH or NEAH?!?!

If I move forward, I will have a Honda mechanic inspect it and will take it for a decent test ride and self inspection (using the helpful tips found here). I want to make sure it can still get great MPG. Will a 5-10 mile highway test-drive be enough to test for plausible MPG? Any thoughts?

Thanks, saintb

·
Registered
466 Posts